Home · News & Events · News · Content

YSU Prof. Tian Yingjun elected Academician of 2019 TWAS



[News from the News Center] On Nov. 27, the 28th Third World Academy of Sciences(TWAS) General Meeting was held in Italy, and 46 new Fellows from 20 countries were elected to its membership, among which 14 comes from mainland China. Prof. Tian Yingjunfrom YSU School of Materials Science and Engineering was elected academician of 2019 TWAS.

14 new TWAS academician from mainland China are: Zhang Fusuo, academician of Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE) from China Agricultural University, Chen Hualan, academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) from Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, Xu Tao, academician of CAS from Institute of Biophysics of CAS, Wei Fuwen, academician of CAS from Institute of Zoology of CAS, Huang Hefeng, academician of CAS from Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Zhao Yuliang, academician of CAS from the National Center for Nanoscience and Technology (NCNST), Zhang Tao, academician of CAS from Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics of CAS, Liu Ming, academician of CAS from University of Science and Technology of China (USTC), Qu Jiuhui, academician of CAE from Research Center for Eco-Environmental Sciences of CAS, Fang Fuquan, academician of CAS from Capital Normal University, Xu Hongxing, academician of CAS from Wuhan University, Tian Yongjun, academician of CAS from YSU, Zeng Yi from Peking University, and Liu Yansui from Institute of Geographic Sciences and Natural Resources Research of CAS.

At the same time, 4 scientists from mainland China were awarded TWAS prizes in different subject/fields. The TWAS Prizes are awarded to individual scientists from developing countries in recognition of their outstanding contribution to scientific knowledge in their fields of sciences and/or to the application of science and technology to sustainable development. The prize of chemistry goes to Tang Zhiyong from NCNST; the prize of earth, astronomy and space sciences goes to Cao Junji from Institute of Earth Environment of CAS; the prize of mathematics goes to Tang Zizhou from Nankai University together with an Indian scientist; and the prize of physics goes to Chen Xianhui from USTC.

Besides, the TWAS elected its first Fellows ever from Bolivia, the Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Libya, Nicaragua and Zambia. This is the first time since its founding 35 years ago, more than 100 countries will be represented in TWAS’s ranks - 104 countries in all.

YSU Prof. Tian Yingjunis elected academician of 2019 TWAS

(Photo from School Materials Science and Engineering)

Tian Yongjun, born in Heilongjiang in March 1963, is a materialist, a Professor of YSU School of Materials Science and Engineering. He graduated from Harbin University of Science and Technology in 1984, received his master’s degree in engineering from Northeast Heavy Machinery College (now YSU) in 1987, and received PhD degree from the Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences in 1994. In 1996, as a Humboldt scholar, Tian was engaged at the University of Jena in Germany for a two-year collaborative study. In 2001, he was appointed as the distinguished professor of the Changjiang Scholars Program by MoE. In 2002, he was awarded the National Outstanding Youth Science Fund. In 2008, he was awarded the Innovation Research Group of the National Natural Science Foundation of China.From 1999 to 2016, Tian served as Dean of the YSU School of Materials Science and Engineering, and in 2017, he was elected the Academician of China Academy of Sciences. He is a Deputy Editor of Science China Materials, and editor of journals: Journal of Materials Science & Technology, Journal of Materiomics among others. His mainly research interests is the design and synthesis of new metastable materials. Tian has published more than 300 SCI papers in journals such as Nature, Science Advances, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, Physical Review Letters, Journal of the American Chemical Society, and Advanced Materials, which have been cited more than 5,000 times. He was awarded one second prize of National Natural Science Prize (2011) as first prize-winner, two MoE Natural Science first Prizes (2000, 2008), and Hebei Province Science and Technology Outstanding Contribution Award (2016). He also had 15 authorized inventions and patents both at home and abroad. His research achievements were selected as the Top 10 National Science Progress in 2013 and the Top 10 Science & Technology Progress of Colleges and Universities in China respectively.  

TWAS, short for Third World Academy of Sciences, is an international scientificorganization founded in 1983 by a distinguished group of scientists from the developing world, under the leadership of Prof. Abdus Salam, the Pakistani physicist and Nobel laureate. The Academy is based in Trieste, Italy.

[Translated by Xing Tong]

Copyright © 2017 - Yanshan University Qinhuangdao P.R.China · All Rights Reserved Tel:+86-335-8057070 Powered by: YSU Information Technology Office