Home · News & Events · Events · Content

YSU team won second prize in ASC17


News from News Center Led by Dongliang Guo(from the Department of Software Engineering, School of Information Science andEngineering), and Liangang Tong (from the Information Technology Center), YSU supercomputing team members--- Fei Li and Nan Hong (juniors from the Departmentof Science and Technology), Hao Yan and Peng Gao (juniors from the Department of Software Engineering), Yangang Li (a junior from the Department of Electronic Information Engineering) won the second prize in the 2017 World University Supercomputer Challenge (ASC17), winning honor for YSU. The second prize winners also include: Chinese University of Hong Kong, National University of Defense Technology, Harbin Institute of Technology, Hong Kong Polytechnic University.


YSU student supercomputing team won the second prize in2017 World University Supercomputer Challenge (ASC17) 

(The photo is providedby School of Information Science and Engineering)

The competing teams are required to accelerate the optimization of intelligent drive traffic prediction provided by Baidu and the numerical simulation of ocean wave nominated by the Gordon Bell Prize (known as the "SupercomputingNobel Prize") with the most powerful Sunway---Taihu Light computer housedin the National Supercomputing Center in Wuxi, China, and the SupercomputingCenter Cluster newly built by Zhengzhou University as computing platforms fordifferent questions. The contest aims to promote the exchange among young talentsfrom different countries and regions, enhance supercomputing applications and R& D capabilities, exert the driving force of supercomputer technology, and promote technological and industrial innovation.

ASC17 is co-sponsored by the Asian Supercomputing Association, Inspur Group, National Supercomputer Center in Wuxi, and Zhengzhou University. A total of 230 teams across the globe, including:Tsinghua University, Chinese University of Hong Kong, National Tsinghua University, Saint Petersburg State University in Russia, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg in German, Zhongshan University, Shanghai Jiao TongUniversity, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, participated in thecontest. Held for 7 sessions, ASC, with its largest scale and largest number of participants, is known as one of the world's top three supercomputer races; the other two are ISC of Germany and SC of the United States.


Copyright © 2017 - Yanshan University Qinhuangdao P.R.China · All Rights Reserved Tel:+86-335-8057070 Powered by: YSU Information Technology Office